CSSANZ Nurses Award



WINNER FOR 2021 IS JULIE TUCKER for her Research Article: Understanding what impacts on disclosing anal incontinence for women when comparing bowel-screening tools: a phenomenological study.  



To promote the collegiate relationship between nursing and medical professionals involved in the specialty of colorectal surgery, the CSSANZ will award a scholarship for a nurse to attend The CME Meeting being held in Adelaide, SA on 10th & 11th September 2021.

Award value   

The scholarship will cover registration to the Spring Meeting, an economy class airfare to the venue, accommodation and A$500.  The winner is presented with the certificate & cheque at the meeting, but is not required to make a presentation as part of the Award.

Nurses Award Flyer

Nurses Award Application Form

Eligibility Criteria   

Applicants must be:

  • Currently registered by their relevant professional body in either Australia or NZ
  • Currently working in the field of colorectal surgery in Australia or NZ
  • Able to attend the CSSANZ Spring Meeting within or outside Australia.   


Submit an article suitable for publication in a Nursing Journal. The article should cover a colorectal topic and may be in the form of, but not limited to:

  • A clinical case study.
  • Research project.
  • Book review not previously published. 
  • Educational poster or teaching tool. 
  • Professional issue pertinent to Colorectal Surgery. 

Selection Criteria   

The judges’ decision will be final and based on the following criteria: 

  • Presentation 
  • Originality 
  • Appropriateness to nursing and colorectal surgery 
  • Demonstrated integration of theory and practice 
  • Suitability for publication 

Previous years winners:

  • 2020 Award withheld
  • 2019 Rebecca Howson
  • 2018 Naomi Houston
  • 2017 Diana Hayes
  • 2016 Diana Hayes
  • 2015 Amanda Richardson
  • 2014 Esther Menzi & Deborah Perry
  • 2013 Anne Tottle
  • 2012 Ian Whiteley
  • 2011 Deborah Perry & Esther Menzi
  • 2010 Kara Torney (Aust) &Judith Warren (NZ)
  • 2009 Lawrence Mutale (NZ) & Sandra Hyde-Smith (Aust)
  • 2008 Helen Kennedy
  • 2007 Carolynne Partridge