CSSANZ Media Award


2018 Media Award has now closed. The recipient will be announced in October.

CSSANZ offers an annual Media Prize for the best media segment (published article, television or radio commentary, or multimedia format) judged by the Media and Public Relations Committee of the CSSANZ to provide the best information to patients.

The award aims to recognise the important role the media can play in raising public awareness of the spectrum of colorectal disease, and the impact these conditions can have on patients.  

The Prize consists of a commemorative plaque and a cash award ($1000) from the CSSANZ. To be considered for the 2018 award, notification must be made to the CSSANZ Office, Ms Liz Neilson (.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)) with evidence of the published articles by Monday 27th August 2018 (no specific application form is required).  

More information here

2017 Winner

There were 7 entries last year ranging across all media: print, radio and television, all from dedicated and professional health and medical journalists.  The 2017 winner is Cecile Meier, Journalist at Stuff NZ, for her article: “Concerned Christchurch surgeons volunteer to give free bowel cancer tests” dated July 12, 2017

Link to article here

Previous Winners