Fellowship of CSSANZ

Fellowship of the Society (FCSSANZ) is awarded to Ordinary, Life and Foundation Members who have met the additional requirements listed below.

FCSSANZ Members:

Chip Farmer Michael von Papen
Andrew Luck John Frye
Ian Faragher Michael Mar Fan
Stephen Tobin Richard Simpson
Craig Lynch Justin Evans
Tim Eglinton Chris Wakeman
Sze-Lin Peng  

FCSSANZ Criteria:

  1. Ordinary Membership of CSSANZ for 3 years.
  2. Continuing Professional Development: Currently certified participation in the yearly Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) Continuing Professional Development CPD program.
  3. Bi-National Colorectal Cancer Audit (BCCA) or equivalent: Participates in a Bi-National Colorectal Cancer Audit or equivalent as approved by CSSANZ. From 1 January 2018, all applicants for FCSSANZ must show evidence of BCCA contribution.
  4. CME: Complete the CARSEP Self-assessment program, (https://www.fascrs.org/colon-and-rectal-surgery-educational-program-carsep) and repeat this every five (5) years.
  5. Certification and Recertification: Having satisfied all the above criteria the Fellow will be issued with a Certificate of Fellowship, and be able to use the post nominal FCSSANZ , to be renewed every 5 years provided criteria are met, as determined by the Membership Committee of CSSANZ with recommendations to Council.

The CARSEP Self-Assessment process can be commenced by purchasing CARSEP material from the ASCRS website at https://imis.fascrs.org/ASCRSIMIS/Members/Store. In October 2015 CARSEP IX transitioned to an online model it now offers the opportunity to study from the your smartphone, iPad, or computer.

When CARSEP has been satisfactorily completed and a certificate issued by ASCRS, that certificate, a recent CPD letter and evidence of BCCA participation (or equivalent) is to be forwarded to the CSSANZ Membership Committee by email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). The Membership Committee will then evaluate whether all criteria have been met and if so recommend elevation to Fellowship status at the following AGM or recertification of Fellowship.

If you have any questions about this process, please contact the CSSANZ Office: .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)  or + 61 3 9853 8013.