Donate Now


About CSSANZ Foundation

The purpose of the CSSANZ Foundation is to promote research programs within the specialty of colorectal surgery in Australia and New Zealand to enhance the quality of life of patients and their families.  This Foundation aims to promote, support and develop projects and to raise the profile of colorectal surgery as a specialty so as to engender financial support in order to facilitate essential and innovative research.

The CSSANZ Foundation is an incorporated company not for profit organisation and has been accorded Research Industry status which registered with the Australian Charities and Not-For-Profits Commission (ACNC).  It has a unitary Shareholder (to ensure the affairs and funds of the Foundation remain under the control of that shareholder).  The shareholder is the (membership of the) Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand. Donations to the CSSANZ Foundation are tax deductible in Australia.

Meet our Foundation Board

The CSSANZ Foundation is managed by a Board, chosen by the membership of the Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand on the recommendation of the CSSANZ Council. 

Dr James Moore, Chair
Dr Elizabeth Murphy, CSSANZ President
A/Prof Cherry Koh, Hon Secretary
Dr Chris Gillespie, Hon Treasurer
Prof Pierre Chapuis
Dr Damien Petersen
Dr Ian Faragher, RACS CRS Section
A/Prof Konrad Richter
A/Prof Stephen Smith
Dr Chris Wakeman

Foundation Research Committee

The CSSANZ Foundation Research Committee operates under the direction of the CSSANZ Foundation Board and is responsible for the collation and analysis of submitted projects, making its recommendations to the CSSANZ Foundation Board for financial support.

A/Prof Stephen Smith, Chair
Dr Elizabeth Dennett
Prof Peter Gibbs
A/Prof Anil Keshava
Dr Rachel Purcell
A/Prof Graham Radford-Smith
A/Prof Konrad Richter
A/Prof Tarik Sammour
Dr Mary Theophilus
Dr Michelle Thomas